PL-400 Certification: Exam Ends, AB-400 Replaces It — Certsqill
7-day money-back guarantee — full refund within 7 days of purchase if you've completed under 20% of the questions. See pricing →
Certifications Tools Flashcards Career Paths Exam Guides Blog Pricing For Teams About
Home›Certifications››PL-400
✓ Updated 2026

PL-400 certification: what changes with AB-400

PL-400 is being replaced. Microsoft closes registration for exam PL-400 on 16 October 2026; if you register by then, you can still take it until 30 October 2026. From 16 October, the Microsoft Certified: Power Platform Developer Associate certification is earned through the new exam AB-400 instead. The certification itself continues, the pass mark stays at 700, and renewal remains a free online assessment.

Certification
Microsoft Certified: Power Platform Developer AssociateMicrosoft Learn certification page, checked 10 October 2026
Status
PL-400 is transitioning to AB-400 — PL-400 registration closes 16 October 2026Microsoft Learn certification page and study guide, checked 10 October 2026
Last PL-400 exams
By 30 October 2026, for candidates registered on or before 16 OctoberMicrosoft Learn certification page, checked 10 October 2026
Successor exam
AB-400: Power Platform Developer Associate, available from 16 October 2026 (English)Microsoft Learn AB-400 exam page, checked 10 October 2026
Exam cost
Not published as one figure — price depends on the country or region where you testMicrosoft Learn certification page, checked 10 October 2026
Passing score
700 or greaterMicrosoft Learn PL-400 study guide, checked 10 October 2026
Duration and questions
Not stated on the Microsoft Learn pages checkedMicrosoft Learn, checked 10 October 2026
Renewal
Free online assessment each year, in a six-month window before expiryMicrosoft Learn renewal page, checked 10 October 2026
Practice assessment
Free practice assessment on Microsoft LearnMicrosoft Learn certification page, checked 10 October 2026

Get notified when the PL-400 question bank launches →

Know if you're ready for PL-400 — before you book.

Certsqill measures your PL-400 readiness across every official exam domain — one 0–100 score from coverage, accuracy and consistency that tells you whether to book, keep studying, or sit.

● REAL PRODUCT · NOT A MOCKUPCertsqill dashboard: an exam readiness score of 88 out of 100 for AWS Certified Cloud Practitioner, labelled ‘On track’, projecting 85–100 on exam day with the exam ten days away.
A real Certsqill account mid-preparation, shown on AWS Certified Cloud Practitioner. Representative state, not a specific customer.
Coming soon
Practice questions
The difference

Why people switch to Certsqill

The old way
✕Endless PL-400 question banks
✕No idea if you're actually ready
✕Generic explanations
✕Monthly subscriptions
Certsqill
✓Know your readiness
✓Find weak domains instantly
✓AI explains every mistake
✓One payment. Lifetime access.

Everything you need to walk in ready

Know where you stand, understand every mistake, and study in your language — one payment, no subscription.

KNOW WHEN YOU'RE READY

Your PL-400 Readiness Score, not a guess

One number from three signals — coverage, accuracy, and consistency — tells you whether to book the exam or keep studying.

Certsqill domain readiness panel: each exam domain listed with its accuracy and a Ready or Needs work label.
Check your PL-400 readiness — free →
UNDERSTAND EVERY MISTAKE

Understand every PL-400 mistake

When you miss a question, it explains why — using your own answer history to catch the patterns you keep repeating. Included, no subscription.

An answered Certsqill question showing why the correct option is right, why each other option is wrong, and a “Common trap” note.
STUDY IN YOUR LANGUAGE

Explanations in your language, questions stay exam-accurate

Get every explanation in your language while the questions stay in exam-accurate English. Technical terms stay in English — the way the exam writes them.

The Certsqill AI tutor explaining a wrong answer, with an 'Explain in' language selector for reading explanations in eleven languages.
Explanations available in your language — questions stay in exam-accurate English.EnglishDeutschEspañolPortuguêsFrançaisItalianoPolskiNederlandsTürkçe简体中文العربية
What's Included

Everything you need to pass

Practice Questions — coming soon
Mapped to the official PL-400 exam blueprint.
Expert-Developed Explanations
Instant, in-context explanations for any question or concept.
AI Study Tutor
Explains why you got a question wrong, in context — expert-developed questions, an AI tutor that helps you understand them. No subscription.
Spaced-Repetition Review
We resurface the questions you're about to forget, right when you need them.
Exam Readiness Score
A 0–100 score by domain that tells you when you're ready — not just hopeful.
Study Plan to Your Exam Date
Set your test date and we pace your prep so you peak on the day.
Domain Coverage Analytics
See exactly where you're strong and where to focus.
Lifetime Updates
When updates PL-400, so does Certsqill. No re-purchase needed.

Why you can trust these PL-400 questions

Mapped to the official PL-400 exam objectivesWritten by the Certsqill team7-day money-back guarantee — full refund within 7 days
PL-400
Coming soon
questions
$49one-time
7-day money-back guarantee · lifetime access
Coming soon
Everything you get
  • Full course — per-choice explanations, readiness score & domain diagnosis
  • 7-Day Final Sprint Plan$39
  • Exam-Day Playbook$29
  • Domain Cheat Sheets$25
  • Score Report Analyzer$19
  • Lifetime updates$49
$210 of value — yours for a one-time $49.
✓ 7-day money-back guarantee.

Expert-developed explanations
Every question comes with an instant, in-context explanation.
7-day money-back guarantee — full refund within 7 days of purchase if you've completed under 20% of the questions.
Secure checkout · encrypted payments by Stripe
7-day money-back guarantee
Full refund within 7 days of purchase if you have completed under 20% of the questions.
Lifetime updates
When the vendor changes the exam, so do we — no re-purchase.
One payment. No subscription.
Buy the course once and keep lifetime access. Nothing recurring, nothing to cancel.

4.6/5

PL-400 is transitioning to AB-400

Microsoft states that PL-400 is transitioning to AB-400 to align the exam within its certification portfolio. The dates are fixed: on 16 October 2026 registration for PL-400 closes and registration opens only for AB-400. Learners who register for PL-400 on or before 16 October can still schedule and take it through 30 October 2026. The AB-400 exam is available from 16 October, and registration for it is already open.

What does not change is the certification. AB-400 is listed as part of the requirements for Microsoft Certified: Power Platform Developer Associate — the same credential PL-400 leads to today. If you already hold it, nothing about your certification ends; you renew it as before.

If you are planning now, the practical choice is between booking PL-400 before 16 October and sitting it by 30 October, or preparing for AB-400. Note that AB-400 is listed in English only, while PL-400 was offered in eight languages.

  • 16 October 2026: PL-400 registration closes; AB-400 available
  • 30 October 2026: last day to take PL-400 (if registered by 16 October)

Source: Microsoft Learn — Power Platform Developer Associate. Checked 10 October 2026.

What is the PL-400 certification?

The PL-400 certification is the common name for Microsoft Certified: Power Platform Developer Associate, the credential earned by passing exam PL-400: Microsoft Power Platform Developer. Its full title in searches often appears as Microsoft Certified Power Platform Developer Associate PL-400.

Microsoft describes the candidate as someone who designs, develops, tests and troubleshoots solution components using the extension points of Microsoft Power Platform and generative AI — custom user experiences and business logic, system integrations, data conversions, process automation and agentic AI. The development experience it expects includes JavaScript, JSON, TypeScript and Power Fx, C#, Python, HTML and YAML, RESTful web APIs, Azure, Microsoft Foundry and Copilot Studio.

Source: Microsoft Learn — Study guide for Exam PL-400. Checked 10 October 2026.

PL-400 exam: cost, passing score and languages

Microsoft does not publish one price for the PL-400 exam: its certification page states that the price is based on the country or region where the exam is proctored, and AB-400 is priced the same way. You see the amount for your location when you schedule.

A score of 700 or greater is required to pass. Microsoft does not state the duration or the number of questions on the certification or study guide pages checked. PL-400 is offered in German, English, Spanish, French, Italian, Japanese, Portuguese (Brazil) and Chinese (Simplified); AB-400 in English.

Source: Microsoft Learn — Study guide for Exam PL-400. Checked 10 October 2026.

What the exam covers from 16 October 2026

Microsoft’s PL-400 study guide now shows the skills measured as of 16 October 2026 — the day AB-400 takes over — in four areas. Extending Microsoft Power Platform is the largest at 35–40%:

  • Extend Microsoft Power Platform — 35–40%
  • Extend the user experience — 25–30%
  • Build Microsoft Power Platform solutions — 15–20%
  • Develop integrations — 10–15%

Source: Microsoft Learn — Study guide for Exam PL-400. Checked 10 October 2026.

What changed from the PL-400 skills

The change log in the study guide compares the outline before 16 October 2026 with the new one. The previous skill areas were creating a technical design, building Power Platform solutions, implementing Power Apps improvements, extending the user experience, extending the platform and developing integrations.

Two areas were removed as separate sections — creating a technical design and implementing Power Apps improvements, including advanced canvas app features and app troubleshooting — while design topics moved under building solutions. New topics include building and deploying Power Apps code apps, building Microsoft Foundry agents with code that integrates with Power Platform, and configuring Copilot Studio workflows alongside Power Automate cloud flows. Application lifecycle management and platform APIs were changed in a major way.

Source: Microsoft Learn — Study guide for Exam PL-400. Checked 10 October 2026.

PL-400 training, course and study plan

Microsoft’s certification page states that learning paths or modules are not yet available for this certification, so the study guide is the main official reference for both PL-400 and AB-400. Any PL-400 course or training you buy elsewhere should be checked against the change log: material built for the old outline still teaches canvas app features that are no longer a separate section, and misses code apps and Foundry agents.

A sensible study plan follows the weights: most time on extending the platform — plug-ins, platform APIs, Azure Functions, flows — then the user experience with client scripting and PCF code components, then solutions and ALM, then integrations. Hands-on work in a developer environment is the most direct exam prep for a developer exam.

Source: Microsoft Learn — Power Platform Developer Associate. Checked 10 October 2026.

PL-400 practice exam and questions

Microsoft offers a free practice assessment for the exam on Microsoft Learn, described as practice questions to help you prepare. Because the outline changes on 16 October 2026, check which skills version a PL-400 practice exam follows before relying on its score.

When you judge other PL-400 questions, look for coverage of the four current areas in proportion, explanations for every option, and scenario-style tasks rather than definitions. PL-400 questions written for the old outline may still be useful for plug-ins and client scripting, which carried over with minor changes.

Source: Microsoft Learn — Power Platform Developer Associate. Checked 10 October 2026.

PL-400 dumps

PL-400 dumps that claim to contain real exam questions are banned under Microsoft’s exam security policy. Microsoft defines a brain dump as a source of exam content that was fraudulently obtained to share or sell, and states that using it to prepare for an exam constitutes cheating. Candidates can be permanently barred from future credentials and have certifications and scores revoked.

With the exam changing on 16 October 2026, dumps are also simply out of date: they cannot reflect the new skills outline.

Source: Microsoft Learn — Exam and assessment security policies. Checked 10 October 2026.

How to renew the Power Platform Developer Associate

Associate certifications like this one expire unless renewed. Microsoft lets you renew at no cost by passing an online assessment on Microsoft Learn during a six-month window before expiry; each pass extends the certification by one year from its expiration date. The assessment is unproctored and can be retaken as often as needed before the certification expires.

The switch from PL-400 to AB-400 affects how new candidates earn the certification, not how existing holders renew it.

Source: Microsoft Learn — Renew your Microsoft Certification. Checked 10 October 2026.

PL-400 practice questions

Certsqill’s PL-400 practice questions are expert-developed: every question explains each answer option, and a readiness score for each skill area shows whether extending the platform, at 35–40% of the exam, is ready before you book.

PL-400 questions people ask

Is the PL-400 exam being retired?

It is being replaced by AB-400. PL-400 registration closes on 16 October 2026, and registered candidates can take it until 30 October 2026. Source: Microsoft Learn, checked 10 October 2026.

Does the Power Platform Developer Associate certification end?

No. AB-400 is part of the requirements for the same certification, Microsoft Certified: Power Platform Developer Associate. Source: Microsoft Learn, checked 10 October 2026.

How much does the PL-400 exam cost?

Microsoft publishes no single figure; the price depends on the country or region where you test. Checked 10 October 2026.

What is the PL-400 passing score?

700 or greater. Source: Microsoft Learn PL-400 study guide, checked 10 October 2026.

How long is the PL-400 exam?

Microsoft does not state the duration on the certification and study guide pages checked on 10 October 2026.

Which languages is the exam offered in?

PL-400 in eight languages including English, German and Japanese; AB-400 in English. Source: Microsoft Learn, checked 10 October 2026.

Is there a free PL-400 practice assessment?

Yes, Microsoft offers a free practice assessment on Microsoft Learn. Check which skills version it follows. Checked 10 October 2026.

How do I renew the certification?

Pass Microsoft’s free online renewal assessment in the six months before expiry; it extends the certification by one year. Source: Microsoft Learn, checked 10 October 2026.

Are PL-400 dumps allowed?

No. Microsoft treats brain dump use as cheating and can revoke certifications and ban candidates. Source: Microsoft exam security policies, checked 10 October 2026.

PL-400 questions are coming soon Leave your email and we'll tell you the moment the question bank goes live. Get notified →
Certsqill Tutor
Every mistake explained by your Certsqill Tutor
Get unstuck on the question you just missed — why your answer was wrong, measured against your own history, in 11 languages. Included with the course.
Study Resource
Complete PL-400 Exam Guide
Domain breakdown, 4-week study plan, common mistakes, and passing strategies.
Read the PL-400 Exam Guide →
Related Certifications
Practice these next