Tableau Certified Data Analyst: exam, cost and preparation
The Tableau Certified Data Analyst is now issued by Salesforce as the Salesforce Certified Tableau Data Analyst. The exam has 60 multiple-choice/multiple-select questions plus five nonscored ones, you need 65% to pass, and it costs US$200 plus tax (retake US$100). It is proctored at a Pearson VUE centre or online, has no prerequisites, and is kept current with a yearly maintenance module on Trailhead.
- Certification
- Salesforce Certified Tableau Data AnalystTrailhead credential page, checked 10 October 2026
- Exam fee
- US$200 plus applicable taxesSalesforce Help exam pricing, checked 10 October 2026
- Retake fee
- US$100 plus taxSalesforce Help exam pricing, checked 10 October 2026
- Questions
- 60 multiple-choice/multiple-select plus 5 nonscoredTrailhead prep guide, checked 10 October 2026
- Passing score
- 65%Trailhead prep guide, checked 10 October 2026
- Duration
- Not stated in the Salesforce sources we could loadTrailhead prep guide and credential page, checked 10 October 2026
- Delivery
- Proctored at a Pearson VUE testing centre or online; no reference materialsTrailhead prep guide, checked 10 October 2026
- Prerequisites
- None; Salesforce recommends at least 6 months of Tableau experienceTrailhead prep guide, checked 10 October 2026
- Maintenance
- One maintenance module on Trailhead each year, or the certification expiresTrailhead prep guide, checked 10 October 2026
Get notified when the Tableau Data Analyst question bank launches →
Know if you're ready for Tableau Data Analyst — before you book.
Certsqill measures your Tableau Data Analyst readiness across every official exam domain — one 0–100 score from coverage, accuracy and consistency that tells you whether to book, keep studying, or sit.
Why people switch to Certsqill
Everything you need to walk in ready
Know where you stand, understand every mistake, and study in your language — one payment, no subscription.
Your Tableau Data Analyst Readiness Score, not a guess
One number from three signals — coverage, accuracy, and consistency — tells you whether to book the exam or keep studying.
Understand every Tableau Data Analyst mistake
When you miss a question, it explains why — using your own answer history to catch the patterns you keep repeating. Included, no subscription.
Explanations in your language, questions stay exam-accurate
Get every explanation in your language while the questions stay in exam-accurate English. Technical terms stay in English — the way the exam writes them.
Everything you need to pass
Why you can trust these Tableau Data Analyst questions
What is the Tableau Certified Data Analyst certification?
The Tableau Certified Data Analyst certification shows that you can take a business question through the whole analysis in Tableau: connect to and prepare data, explore and analyse it, build the content stakeholders use, and publish it to Tableau Server or Tableau Cloud. Salesforce’s credential page puts it this way: certified Tableau data analysts enable stakeholders to make business decisions by understanding the business problem, identifying the data to explore and delivering actionable insights.
The credential is issued under the Salesforce certification programme. Its official name is Salesforce Certified Tableau Data Analyst, and Trailhead Academy lists the exam under the code Analytics-DA-201. Tableau’s former certified data analyst page now redirects to that Salesforce exam page, so a certified Tableau data analyst and the Salesforce certified Tableau data analyst certification refer to the same credential.
Source: Trailhead — Salesforce Certified Tableau Data Analyst. Checked 10 October 2026.
Tableau Data Analyst certification cost
Salesforce prices all data analyst certification exams at US$200 (or JPY 30,000), tax excluded. A retake costs US$100 (JPY 15,000) — Salesforce’s general rule is that a retake costs 50% of the original price.
Salesforce lists no prerequisites and no required course, so beyond the exam fee, what you spend on preparation is your choice. Training is optional and priced by whoever delivers it.
Source: Salesforce Help — Certification exam pricing. Checked 10 October 2026.
Tableau Certified Data Analyst exam format
The Tableau certified data analyst exam has 60 multiple-choice and multiple-select questions plus five nonscored questions that do not count towards your result. The passing score is 65%, which is 39 of the 60 scored questions. Salesforce asks you to allow up to 24 hours for your result by email.
You take the Salesforce certified Tableau data analyst exam proctored, either onsite at a Pearson VUE testing centre or in an online proctored environment. No hard-copy or online materials can be referenced during the exam.
The time limit is not stated in the Salesforce sources we could load today (the Trailhead prep guide and the credential page). Check it on the exam registration page before you book, so you can plan your pace.
Source: Trailhead — Tableau Data Analyst Certification Prep Guide. Checked 10 October 2026.
What is on the exam? The four sections
Salesforce’s outline weights the exam heavily towards analysis. Exploring and analysing data alone is 41%, well ahead of creating content at 26% and connecting and transforming data at 24%; publishing and managing content is the smallest section at 9%.
- Connect to and Transform Data — 24%
- Explore and Analyze Data — 41%
- Create Content — 26%
- Publish and Manage Content on Tableau Server and Tableau Cloud — 9%
Source: Trailhead — Tableau Data Analyst Certification Prep Guide. Checked 10 October 2026.
Prerequisites and recommended experience
No prerequisites are required. Salesforce recommends at least six months of experience with Tableau and Tableau products, gained through a mix of on-the-job work, course completion and self-study, and says a data analyst candidate should have the skills to pass the Salesforce Certified Tableau Desktop Foundations exam.
In practice that means the Tableau Data Analyst certification assumes you are already comfortable building views and calculations in Tableau Desktop; the exam then tests whether you can apply that across the full analysis workflow.
Source: Trailhead — Tableau Data Analyst Certification Prep Guide. Checked 10 October 2026.
Tableau data analyst certification prep and courses
The official starting point is Salesforce’s Trailhead module, the Tableau Data Analyst Certification Prep Guide, which covers each exam topic in its own unit and summarises the exam logistics and policies. Trailhead Academy also offers instructor-led training for those who want a course.
If you find a Tableau data analyst certification prep 2023 guide or other older material, check it against the current four sections and weights above before relying on it. Older material may follow an earlier outline, and your prep should match the exam you will actually sit.
Source: Trailhead — Tableau Data Analyst Certification Prep Guide. Checked 10 October 2026.
Tableau data analyst certification practice exam and question rules
A good Tableau data analyst certification practice exam does three things: it follows the 24/41/26/9 weighting, it mixes multiple-choice and multiple-select questions as the real exam does, and it explains why each option is right or wrong — so a missed question turns into something you learn.
Real exam questions are off limits. Salesforce has a zero-tolerance policy for misconduct related to certification exams and prohibits sharing, using or selling exam content in any format, including content you memorise. Consequences include revocation of earned certifications.
Source: Salesforce Help — Credentialing and Certification Program Agreement and Code of Conduct. Checked 10 October 2026.
Retakes and keeping the certification
Within each release cycle you have three attempts at the same exam: after a first fail you wait 24 hours before registering again, after a second fail 14 days, and after a third you wait for the next release cycle.
Once certified, you must complete the Salesforce certified Tableau maintenance module on Trailhead once a year. If you miss the maintenance due date, the certification expires.
Source: Salesforce Help — Retake policy for certification exams. Checked 10 October 2026.
Salary and career value
Salesforce publishes no salary figure for this certification, so none is quoted here. What the credential gives you is an independent, proctored check of practical Tableau skills, which is the part an employer can verify in Salesforce’s credential system.
Source: Trailhead — Salesforce Certified Tableau Data Analyst. Checked 10 October 2026.
Tableau Data Analyst practice questions on Certsqill
Certsqill’s Tableau Data Analyst practice questions are expert-developed: every answer option has an explanation, and you see a readiness score for each of the four sections — so you know whether exploring and analysing data, at 41% of the exam, is ready.
Tableau Data Analyst questions people ask
What is the Tableau Certified Data Analyst?
A Salesforce certification, officially the Salesforce Certified Tableau Data Analyst, for analysts who connect, explore and analyse data and publish content in Tableau. Source: Trailhead, checked 10 October 2026.
How much does the Tableau Data Analyst certification cost?
US$200 plus tax; a retake costs US$100. Source: Salesforce Help, checked 10 October 2026.
How many questions are on the exam?
60 multiple-choice/multiple-select questions plus five nonscored questions. Source: Trailhead prep guide, checked 10 October 2026.
What is the passing score?
65%. Source: Trailhead prep guide, checked 10 October 2026.
Can I take the exam online?
Yes, in an online proctored environment, or onsite at a Pearson VUE testing centre. Source: Trailhead prep guide, checked 10 October 2026.
Are there prerequisites?
No. Salesforce recommends at least six months of Tableau experience and Desktop Foundations-level skills. Source: Trailhead prep guide, checked 10 October 2026.
Does the certification expire?
Only if you skip maintenance: you complete a Trailhead maintenance module once a year. Source: Trailhead prep guide, checked 10 October 2026.
How many times can I retake the exam?
Three attempts per release cycle, with 24 hours before the second and 14 days before the third. Source: Salesforce Help, checked 10 October 2026.



