LFCA certification: exam, cost, domains and training
LFCA — Linux Foundation Certified IT Associate — is the Linux Foundation’s entry-level IT certification for people new to the industry. The exam is online, proctored and multiple choice, runs 90 minutes and costs US$250 with one retake included. There are no prerequisites, and the certification is valid for two years. The Linux Foundation does not publish a question count.
- Certification
- Linux Foundation Certified IT Associate (LFCA), issued by the Linux FoundationLinux Foundation LFCA page, checked 10 October 2026
- Cost
- US$250 exam only; US$299 with the LFS200 course; US$495 with a THRIVE-ONE annual subscriptionLinux Foundation LFCA page, checked 10 October 2026
- Format
- Online, proctored, multiple choiceLinux Foundation LFCA page, checked 10 October 2026
- Duration
- 90 minutesLinux Foundation LFCA page, checked 10 October 2026
- Questions
- Not published by the Linux FoundationLinux Foundation LFCA page and Multiple Choice Exams FAQ, checked 10 October 2026
- Passing score
- 75% for Linux Foundation multiple-choice exams; not stated on the LFCA page itselfLinux Foundation Multiple Choice Exams FAQ, checked 10 October 2026
- Retakes and eligibility
- One retake included; 12 months to take the examLinux Foundation LFCA page, checked 10 October 2026
- Prerequisites
- NoneLinux Foundation LFCA page, checked 10 October 2026
- Validity
- 2 yearsLinux Foundation LFCA page, checked 10 October 2026
Know if you're ready for LFCA — before you book.
Certsqill measures your LFCA readiness across every official exam domain — one 0–100 score from coverage, accuracy and consistency that tells you whether to book, keep studying, or sit.
Why people switch to Certsqill
Everything you need to walk in ready
Know where you stand, understand every mistake, and study in your language — one payment, no subscription.
Your LFCA Readiness Score, not a guess
One number from three signals — coverage, accuracy, and consistency — tells you whether to book the exam or keep studying.
Understand every LFCA mistake
When you miss a question, it explains why — using your own answer history to catch the patterns you keep repeating. Included, no subscription.
Explanations in your language, questions stay exam-accurate
Get every explanation in your language while the questions stay in exam-accurate English. Technical terms stay in English — the way the exam writes them.
Everything you need to pass
Why you can trust these LFCA questions
What is the LFCA certification?
LFCA stands for Linux Foundation Certified IT Associate. The Linux Foundation calls it a pre-professional certification intended for those new to the industry or considering starting an IT career as an administrator or engineer.
The exam tests fundamental IT concepts rather than deep Linux administration: operating systems, installing and managing software and hardware, using the command line and basic programming, basic networking, security best practices and related topics. Cloud, DevOps and even IT project management are part of the scope, which makes the LFCA a broad first credential rather than a Linux-only one.
Source: Linux Foundation Education — LFCA. Checked 10 October 2026.
How much does the LFCA exam cost?
The Linux Foundation lists three ways to buy the LFCA. The exam alone costs US$250. Paired with the course Fundamentals of Open Source IT and Cloud Computing (LFS200), it costs US$299. With a THRIVE-ONE annual subscription — which the Linux Foundation says includes unlimited access to its e-learning courses, SkillCreds and microlearning content — it costs US$495.
Every option includes one retake, and you have 12 months from purchase to take the exam.
- LFCA exam only — US$250
- LFS200 course + LFCA exam — US$299
- LFCA exam + THRIVE-ONE annual subscription — US$495
Source: Linux Foundation Education — LFCA. Checked 10 October 2026.
LFCA exam format: how the test works
The LFCA exam is online, proctored and multiple choice, and you get 90 minutes. The Linux Foundation’s FAQ for its multiple-choice exams explains that proctoring runs remotely via streaming audio, video and screen sharing, and that you may not use other applications or browser windows during the exam.
The same FAQ says multiple-choice exams are scored automatically and that a score report is emailed within 24 hours of finishing. The Linux Foundation does not publish the number of LFCA questions.
Source: Linux Foundation — Multiple Choice Exams FAQ. Checked 10 October 2026.
LFCA passing score
The LFCA certification page does not state a passing score. The Linux Foundation’s general FAQ for its multiple-choice exams says a score of 75% or above must be earned to pass. That FAQ covers Linux Foundation multiple-choice exams as a group and does not name the LFCA individually, so confirm the figure in your candidate materials.
Source: Linux Foundation — Multiple Choice Exams FAQ. Checked 10 October 2026.
What is on the LFCA exam? Domains and weights
The Linux Foundation publishes six domains with fixed weightings. System administration fundamentals is the biggest single block at 30%; cloud computing and Linux fundamentals together add another 34%.
Read the competencies under each domain, not just the titles. Cloud computing, for example, includes budgeting, and security includes sensitive data and compliance — topics that pure command-line practice will not prepare you for. The last two domains, DevOps and IT project management, add up to 22% and cover Git, containers and open source licensing.
- Linux Fundamentals — 16% (Linux operating system, command line)
- System Administration Fundamentals — 30% (system administration, best practices, networking, troubleshooting, disaster recovery)
- Cloud Computing Fundamentals — 18% (cloud computing, performance and availability, budgeting, best practices, networking)
- Security Fundamentals — 14% (security, sensitive data, compliance)
- DevOps Fundamentals — 12% (DevOps basics, Git concepts, containers)
- IT Project Management Fundamentals — 10% (project management, software application architecture, functional analysis, open source software and licensing)
Source: Linux Foundation Education — LFCA. Checked 10 October 2026.
LFCA prerequisites
There are none. The Linux Foundation states that there are no prerequisites for the LFCA exam, and the certification is explicitly aimed at people at the start of an IT career. You do not need a degree, a prior certification or documented work experience to register.
What you do need is a setup that works with remote proctoring. The Linux Foundation’s multiple-choice exam FAQ states that the exam is proctored remotely via streaming audio, video and screen sharing, so check your equipment against the candidate materials before exam day.
Source: Linux Foundation Education — LFCA. Checked 10 October 2026.
LFCA training and course options
The official course paired with the exam is LFS200, Fundamentals of Open Source IT and Cloud Computing, sold as a US$299 bundle with the LFCA exam. The LFCA page also links a suggested LFCA learning path and additional free resources from the Linux Foundation.
Whichever training route you take, map it to the six domains above. The weightings show where the questions are concentrated, and the project management and DevOps domains are easy to skip if your study material is purely Linux-focused.
Source: Linux Foundation Education — LFCA. Checked 10 October 2026.
How long is the LFCA valid?
The LFCA is valid for two years. The Linux Foundation’s multiple-choice exam FAQ states that candidates have the option to retake and pass the exam to renew their certification.
Note the expiry date when your certificate is issued. Two years is a short cycle for an entry-level credential, and if you move on to a more advanced Linux Foundation certification in that time, decide whether renewing the LFCA is still worth it for you.
Source: Linux Foundation Education — LFCA. Checked 10 October 2026.
LFCA vs LFCS
LFCA is the broad entry point; LFCS, the Linux Foundation Certified System Administrator, is the hands-on Linux administration certification. LFCS is an online, proctored, performance-based test in which you have 2 hours to complete tasks, and the exam alone costs US$445. LFCA is multiple choice, 90 minutes and US$250. Both are valid for two years and neither has prerequisites.
A common sequence is therefore LFCA to confirm the fundamentals, then LFCS once you can administer a Linux system at the command line under time pressure.
Source: Linux Foundation Education — LFCS. Checked 10 October 2026.
LFCA practice questions
Certsqill’s LFCA practice questions come with an explanation for each answer option and a readiness score per domain.
A note on shortcuts: the Linux Foundation’s certification agreement explicitly prohibits seeking or using braindump material, and allows it to revoke certifications and permanently ban candidates.
Source: Linux Foundation — Global Certification and Confidentiality Agreement. Checked 10 October 2026.
LFCA questions people ask
What is the LFCA certification?
The Linux Foundation Certified IT Associate, a pre-professional certification for people new to IT. Source: Linux Foundation, checked 10 October 2026.
How much does the LFCA exam cost?
US$250 for the exam alone, US$299 with the LFS200 course, or US$495 with a THRIVE-ONE subscription. Checked 10 October 2026.
How long is the LFCA exam?
90 minutes. Source: Linux Foundation LFCA page, checked 10 October 2026.
How many questions are on the LFCA exam?
The Linux Foundation does not publish a question count. The exam is multiple choice. Checked 10 October 2026.
What is the LFCA passing score?
The LFCA page does not state one; the Linux Foundation’s FAQ for its multiple-choice exams sets 75%. Checked 10 October 2026.
Is the LFCA exam online?
Yes. It is an online, proctored exam with remote audio, video and screen-sharing supervision. Checked 10 October 2026.
Does the LFCA include a retake?
Yes, one retake, and you have 12 months of exam eligibility. Source: Linux Foundation, checked 10 October 2026.
Are there prerequisites for the LFCA?
No. The Linux Foundation states there are no prerequisites. Checked 10 October 2026.
How long is the LFCA valid?
Two years. Source: Linux Foundation LFCA page, checked 10 October 2026.



