CGSS Certification: Exam, Cost, Eligibility, Renewal — Certsqill
7-day money-back guarantee — full refund within 7 days of purchase if you've completed under 20% of the questions. See pricing →
Certifications Tools Flashcards Career Paths Exam Guides Blog Pricing For Teams About
Home›Certifications››CGSS
✓ Updated 2026

CGSS certification: exam, cost, eligibility and renewal

CGSS is the Certified Global Sanctions Specialist credential from ACAMS. You complete four self-paced sanctions courses, apply, and then sit a proctored exam of 100 multiple-choice and multiple-select questions in 175 minutes. Packages cost US$1,995 for the private sector and US$1,495 for the public sector, and you recertify every three years. ACAMS does not publish a passing score.

Certification
Certified Global Sanctions Specialist (CGSS), issued by ACAMSACAMS CGSS page, checked 10 October 2026
Package price
US$1,995 private sector, US$1,495 public sector (exam included)ACAMS CGSS page and CGSS 2.0 Factsheet, checked 10 October 2026
Questions
100 multiple-choice and multiple-selectACAMS CGSS 2.0 Factsheet, checked 10 October 2026
Duration
175 minutesACAMS CGSS 2.0 Factsheet, checked 10 October 2026
Passing score
Not published by ACAMSNot stated on the CGSS page or Factsheet, checked 10 October 2026
Delivery
Proctored exam; ACAMS offers online proctoring for all candidatesACAMS CGSS page, checked 10 October 2026
Eligibility
40 ACAMS eligibility credits; about 18 months to 2 years of AFC experience recommendedACAMS CGSS 2.0 Factsheet, checked 10 October 2026
Recertification
Every 3 years: 30 credits (at least 15 from ACAMS) plus a fee of US$200–300ACAMS Recertification page, checked 10 October 2026
Validity condition
Valid for three years provided ACAMS membership is activeACAMS Help Center, checked 10 October 2026

Get notified when the CGSS question bank launches →

Know if you're ready for CGSS — before you book.

Certsqill measures your CGSS readiness across every official exam domain — one 0–100 score from coverage, accuracy and consistency that tells you whether to book, keep studying, or sit.

● REAL PRODUCT · NOT A MOCKUPCertsqill dashboard: an exam readiness score of 88 out of 100 for AWS Certified Cloud Practitioner, labelled ‘On track’, projecting 85–100 on exam day with the exam ten days away.
A real Certsqill account mid-preparation, shown on AWS Certified Cloud Practitioner. Representative state, not a specific customer.
Coming soon
Practice questions
The difference

Why people switch to Certsqill

The old way
✕Endless CGSS question banks
✕No idea if you're actually ready
✕Generic explanations
✕Monthly subscriptions
Certsqill
✓Know your readiness
✓Find weak domains instantly
✓AI explains every mistake
✓One payment. Lifetime access.

Everything you need to walk in ready

Know where you stand, understand every mistake, and study in your language — one payment, no subscription.

KNOW WHEN YOU'RE READY

Your CGSS Readiness Score, not a guess

One number from three signals — coverage, accuracy, and consistency — tells you whether to book the exam or keep studying.

Certsqill domain readiness panel: each exam domain listed with its accuracy and a Ready or Needs work label.
Check your CGSS readiness — free →
UNDERSTAND EVERY MISTAKE

Understand every CGSS mistake

When you miss a question, it explains why — using your own answer history to catch the patterns you keep repeating. Included, no subscription.

An answered Certsqill question showing why the correct option is right, why each other option is wrong, and a “Common trap” note.
STUDY IN YOUR LANGUAGE

Explanations in your language, questions stay exam-accurate

Get every explanation in your language while the questions stay in exam-accurate English. Technical terms stay in English — the way the exam writes them.

The Certsqill AI tutor explaining a wrong answer, with an 'Explain in' language selector for reading explanations in eleven languages.
Explanations available in your language — questions stay in exam-accurate English.EnglishDeutschEspañolPortuguêsFrançaisItalianoPolskiNederlandsTürkçe简体中文العربية
What's Included

Everything you need to pass

Practice Questions — coming soon
Mapped to the official CGSS exam blueprint.
Expert-Developed Explanations
Instant, in-context explanations for any question or concept.
AI Study Tutor
Explains why you got a question wrong, in context — expert-developed questions, an AI tutor that helps you understand them. No subscription.
Spaced-Repetition Review
We resurface the questions you're about to forget, right when you need them.
Exam Readiness Score
A 0–100 score by domain that tells you when you're ready — not just hopeful.
Study Plan to Your Exam Date
Set your test date and we pace your prep so you peak on the day.
Domain Coverage Analytics
See exactly where you're strong and where to focus.
Lifetime Updates
When updates CGSS, so does Certsqill. No re-purchase needed.

Why you can trust these CGSS questions

Mapped to the official CGSS exam objectivesWritten by the Certsqill team7-day money-back guarantee — full refund within 7 days
CGSS
Coming soon
questions
$49one-time
7-day money-back guarantee · lifetime access
Coming soon
Everything you get
  • Full course — per-choice explanations, readiness score & domain diagnosis
  • 7-Day Final Sprint Plan$39
  • Exam-Day Playbook$29
  • Domain Cheat Sheets$25
  • Score Report Analyzer$19
  • Lifetime updates$49
$210 of value — yours for a one-time $49.
✓ 7-day money-back guarantee.

Expert-developed explanations
Every question comes with an instant, in-context explanation.
7-day money-back guarantee — full refund within 7 days of purchase if you've completed under 20% of the questions.
Secure checkout · encrypted payments by Stripe
7-day money-back guarantee
Full refund within 7 days of purchase if you have completed under 20% of the questions.
Lifetime updates
When the vendor changes the exam, so do we — no re-purchase.
One payment. No subscription.
Buy the course once and keep lifetime access. Nothing recurring, nothing to cancel.

4.6/5

What is the Certified Global Sanctions Specialist (CGSS)?

The Certified Global Sanctions Specialist is ACAMS’s credential for professionals who manage sanctions risk and compliance. ACAMS describes it as developed with sanctions and anti-financial crime experts and aimed at people with roughly 18 months to two years of financial crime compliance experience.

The audience ACAMS names is broad: sanctions screening and compliance staff, AML/CTF and legal specialists, risk and advisory roles, and global trade, import/export and compliance technology teams that need a working understanding of sanctions frameworks.

ACAMS groups CGSS with CAMS, CCAS and CAFS as its specialist-level certifications. CAMS is the anti-money laundering credential most people know ACAMS for; CGSS is the one built specifically around sanctions.

Source: ACAMS — CGSS 2.0 Factsheet. Checked 10 October 2026.

How the CGSS certification works

CGSS is not an exam you book on its own. ACAMS structures it as a learning path: you buy a package, work through four self-paced online courses, submit your application, and once it is approved you receive instructions by email to schedule the exam. ACAMS recommends finishing all four courses before you sit it.

The four courses are stackable, and ACAMS also sells them individually. If you have already completed some of them, the CGSS page asks you to contact ACAMS about an alternative package rather than buying the standard one.

  • Sanctions Frameworks and Governance
  • Building a Sanctions Compliance Program
  • Detecting and Investigating Sanctions Evasion Techniques
  • Sanctions Compliance Case Studies

Source: ACAMS — CGSS 2.0 Factsheet. Checked 10 October 2026.

How much does the CGSS certification cost?

ACAMS prices CGSS by sector rather than by membership. The standard package costs US$1,995 for the private sector and US$1,495 for the public sector. It includes the electronic study guide (PDF), flashcards, the online courses with review questions, a practice exam and the CGSS exam itself.

The Virtual Classroom Bundle adds six two-hour live online classes and costs US$2,395 (private sector) or US$1,995 (public sector). The Factsheet lists the Virtual Classroom Series as a US$595 add-on, with savings of up to US$195 when bundled.

ACAMS does not state a retake fee on the CGSS page or in the Factsheet, so check the current Candidate Handbook before you book if a second attempt is part of your plan.

Source: ACAMS — CGSS certification. Checked 10 October 2026.

CGSS exam format

The CGSS exam has 100 questions, a mix of multiple-choice and multiple-select, and you have 175 minutes. That works out to 1 minute 45 seconds per question if you use the full time.

The exam is proctored, and ACAMS states that it offers online proctoring for all candidates taking its certification exams, so you can sit it remotely.

Source: ACAMS — CGSS 2.0 Factsheet. Checked 10 October 2026.

CGSS passing score

ACAMS does not publish a CGSS passing score on the certification page or in the CGSS Factsheet. Any percentage you see quoted elsewhere is not from those ACAMS sources.

Without a published threshold, the practical target is even coverage of all four course areas. A weak area cannot be safely written off when you do not know how close to the line it leaves you.

Source: ACAMS — CGSS 2.0 Factsheet. Checked 10 October 2026.

CGSS certification requirements and eligibility

To apply, ACAMS requires 40 ACAMS eligibility credits. According to the Factsheet these can come from education, other certifications, or related professional experience. ACAMS also recommends about 18 months to two years of anti-financial crime work experience, ideally in sanctions.

ACAMS lists the credits as the formal requirement and describes the experience as what the credential is designed to be combined with, so treat the 18 months to two years as a guide to when you are likely to be ready.

Source: ACAMS — CGSS 2.0 Factsheet. Checked 10 October 2026.

How long is the CGSS certification valid?

Specialist-level ACAMS certifications, CGSS included, are valid for three years provided your ACAMS membership is active. After that you recertify every three years.

For CGSS, recertification requires 30 credits in the cycle, of which at least 15 must come from ACAMS, plus a recertification fee. The fee depends on when you submit: US$200 by 1 October, US$250 by 15 December, or US$300 by 31 March.

Source: ACAMS — Recertification. Checked 10 October 2026.

CGSS study materials

The official preparation is built into the package: the four ACAMS courses, the electronic study guide, flashcards, review questions, a post-assessment and a practice exam. The courses define the scope of the exam, so they are the place to start rather than an optional extra.

If you learn better with a live instructor, the Virtual Classroom runs as weekly live online classes over six weeks. ACAMS lists the exam in several languages, though its web page and Factsheet give different lists, so confirm your language with ACAMS before you buy.

Source: ACAMS — CGSS certification. Checked 10 October 2026.

CGSS vs CAMS

Both are ACAMS specialist-level certifications, and both recertify every three years. The difference is focus. CAMS covers anti-money laundering broadly; CGSS goes deep on sanctions — frameworks and governance, building a sanctions compliance programme, and detecting and investigating evasion.

If your role is mainly sanctions screening, sanctions advisory or trade compliance, CGSS maps directly onto your work. If you cover AML across the board, CAMS is the broader credential. The CGSS pages checked do not list CAMS as a prerequisite.

Source: ACAMS — Recertification. Checked 10 October 2026.

CGSS practice questions

Certsqill’s CGSS practice questions are expert-developed with an explanation for every answer option, and your readiness score is shown per course area, so you know which of the four sanctions topics still needs work before you book.

CGSS questions people ask

What is the CGSS certification?

The Certified Global Sanctions Specialist from ACAMS, a specialist-level credential in sanctions compliance. Source: ACAMS, checked 10 October 2026.

How much does the CGSS certification cost?

US$1,995 for the private sector and US$1,495 for the public sector, including courses, study materials and the exam. Source: ACAMS CGSS page, checked 10 October 2026.

How many questions are on the CGSS exam?

100 multiple-choice and multiple-select questions. Source: ACAMS CGSS 2.0 Factsheet, checked 10 October 2026.

How long is the CGSS exam?

175 minutes. Source: ACAMS CGSS 2.0 Factsheet, checked 10 October 2026.

What is the CGSS passing score?

ACAMS does not publish one on the CGSS page or in the Factsheet, checked 10 October 2026.

Can I take the CGSS exam online?

Yes. ACAMS states that it offers online proctoring for all candidates taking its certification exams. Checked 10 October 2026.

What are the CGSS requirements?

40 ACAMS eligibility credits, with about 18 months to two years of anti-financial crime experience recommended. Source: ACAMS CGSS 2.0 Factsheet, checked 10 October 2026.

How do I renew the Certified Global Sanctions Specialist credential?

Every three years: 30 credits, at least 15 of them from ACAMS, plus a fee of US$200, US$250 or US$300 depending on submission date. Source: ACAMS Recertification, checked 10 October 2026.

CGSS questions are coming soon Leave your email and we'll tell you the moment the question bank goes live. Get notified →
Certsqill Tutor
Every mistake explained by your Certsqill Tutor
Get unstuck on the question you just missed — why your answer was wrong, measured against your own history, in 11 languages. Included with the course.
Study Resource
Complete CGSS Exam Guide
Domain breakdown, 4-week study plan, common mistakes, and passing strategies.
Read the CGSS Exam Guide →
Related Certifications
Practice these next