Check Point Certified Security Administrator (CCSA): R82 exam guide
The Check Point Certified Security Administrator (CCSA) is Check Point’s foundational certification for its security products. The current exam is 156-215.82 for R82; the R81.20 exam was retired on 30 June 2026. You test through Pearson VUE, and the certification is valid for two years from the exam date. The exam price, question count, duration and passing score are not listed on the official pages checked for this guide.
- Certification
- Check Point Certified Security Administrator (CCSA), issued by Check PointPearson VUE Check Point testing page, checked 14 October 2026
- Current exam
- 156-215.82 — Check Point Certified Security Administrator R82Check Point announcement, checked 14 October 2026
- Retired exam
- 156-215.81.20 (R81.20), retired 30 June 2026Check Point announcement, checked 14 October 2026
- Exam cost
- Not listed on the Pearson VUE Check Point page; shown when you bookPearson VUE, checked 14 October 2026
- Questions, duration, passing score
- Not listed on the official pages checked; Check Point publishes exam details in its CCSA Exam Prep GuideCheck Point announcement, checked 14 October 2026
- Delivery
- Pearson VUE test center or OnVUE online testingPearson VUE Check Point testing page, checked 14 October 2026
- Retakes
- 24-hour wait after the first fail; 30 days before the third and later attemptsPearson VUE Check Point testing page, checked 14 October 2026
- Validity
- 2 years (24 months) from the exam date; no extensionsPearson VUE Check Point testing page, checked 14 October 2026
- Official practice exam
- 156-609, 40 questions, $50 USDPearson VUE Check Point testing page, checked 14 October 2026
Know if you're ready for CCSA — before you book.
Certsqill measures your CCSA readiness across every official exam domain — one 0–100 score from coverage, accuracy and consistency that tells you whether to book, keep studying, or sit.
Why people switch to Certsqill
Everything you need to walk in ready
Know where you stand, understand every mistake, and study in your language — one payment, no subscription.
Your CCSA Readiness Score, not a guess
One number from three signals — coverage, accuracy, and consistency — tells you whether to book the exam or keep studying.
Understand every CCSA mistake
When you miss a question, it explains why — using your own answer history to catch the patterns you keep repeating. Included, no subscription.
Explanations in your language, questions stay exam-accurate
Get every explanation in your language while the questions stay in exam-accurate English. Technical terms stay in English — the way the exam writes them.
Everything you need to pass
Why you can trust these CCSA questions
What is the Check Point Certified Security Administrator (CCSA)?
The CCSA is the entry point of Check Point’s certification track for security administrators. Check Point’s testing page at Pearson VUE describes it as validating foundational expertise in Check Point’s leading products — in practice, the day-to-day administration of Check Point security gateways and their management.
It is also the gate to the rest of the track. Check Point states that the CCSA certification is the prerequisite for the CCSE, the Check Point Certified Security Expert, and the troubleshooting credentials build on it as well: the CCTA requires a passed CCSA or CCSE, and the CCTE requires a passed CCSE.
To receive the benefits of a Check Point certification you need a Check Point User Center or PartnerMAP account. Passed exams normally appear there within 24 to 72 hours.
Source: Pearson VUE — Check Point testing. Checked 14 October 2026.
CCSA R82 vs R81.20: which exam is current?
Check Point released the R82 CCSA exam, 156-215.82, in late October 2025. The previous exam, 156-215.81.20 for R81.20, was retired on 30 June 2026, and the older R81 exam, which was offered in Japanese only, was retired on 31 December 2025.
As of 14 October 2026 the only CCSA certification exam you can book is therefore the R82 version. If you are studying from R81.20 material, check the R82 Exam Prep Guide before you book, because the exam now tests the R82 release.
A purchased exam voucher is not tied to one version. Check Point staff confirmed in April 2026 that the voucher is not locked to a version of the exam and should be valid for one year after purchase.
Source: Check Point CheckMates — R82 exam announcement by Check Point staff. Checked 14 October 2026.
How much does the CCSA exam cost?
The price of the CCSA certification exam is not printed on Pearson VUE’s Check Point testing page, and Check Point’s own exam announcement does not state it either. The binding figure is the one shown during booking with Pearson VUE, where you can also apply a voucher or promo code at checkout.
Two related costs are published. The official CCSA R82 practice exam, 156-609, costs $50 USD for 40 questions. And rescheduling has rules: notify Pearson VUE at least five days (120 hours) before your appointment for a full refund; between five days and 24 hours before, a $50 USD service fee applies; within 24 hours you cannot reschedule.
Source: Pearson VUE — Check Point testing. Checked 14 October 2026.
CCSA exam format, questions and passing score
Check Point publishes the details of the R82 exam — including the number of questions — in its free CCSA Exam Prep Guide. The question count, the time limit and the passing score for 156-215.82 are not stated on the Pearson VUE testing page or in the exam announcement, so this guide does not repeat figures from elsewhere.
Be careful with numbers you find online: many of them refer to the retired R81.20 exam. Read the R82 Exam Prep Guide and confirm the format on the booking screen.
You take the exam through Pearson VUE, either at a test center or online with OnVUE. Your Pearson VUE account must use the same email address as your Check Point User Center account, otherwise the result does not post to your certification record.
Source: Pearson VUE — Check Point testing. Checked 14 October 2026.
What is on the CCSA exam?
The exam tests the R82 release of Check Point’s security management and gateway products at administrator level. Check Point lists the exam objectives in the CCSA Exam Prep Guide, which is the document to plan your study against.
Do not rely on a topic list written for R81.20. Use the R82 guide and practise on an R82 environment so that menus, features and terminology match the exam you will sit.
Source: Check Point CheckMates — R82 exam announcement by Check Point staff. Checked 14 October 2026.
CCSA prerequisites and the Check Point certification path
Pearson VUE’s Check Point page lists prerequisites for the higher exams, not for the CCSA. The CCSA is the starting credential: to take the CCSE you must have passed a CCSA or CCSE exam at version R80 or later, and the CCTA also builds on a passed CCSA or CCSE.
That makes the order straightforward: CCSA first, then CCSE for expert-level administration, then the troubleshooting credentials. The prerequisite does not have to be active: an expired CCSA or CCSE still satisfies it.
Source: Pearson VUE — Check Point testing. Checked 14 October 2026.
CCSA retake policy
If you fail the CCSA exam, you must wait 24 hours before the next attempt. After the second attempt, the waiting period becomes 30 days for the third attempt and any attempt after that.
Each attempt is a new booking. Plan a second attempt as a separate cost and use the 24 hours to work on the areas that went wrong rather than rebooking immediately.
Source: Pearson VUE — Check Point testing. Checked 14 October 2026.
How long is the Check Point CCSA cert valid?
All Check Point certifications and accreditations are valid for two years (24 months) from the date of the exam. CCSA certifications are not eligible for extensions.
To keep the credential, recertify by passing the exam within six months of its expiration date. In practice that means passing the then-current CCSA version, which after the June 2026 retirement is R82.
Source: Pearson VUE — Check Point testing. Checked 14 October 2026.
CCSA practice exam (156-609)
Check Point offers an official practice exam for the R82 CCSA: 156-609, Check Point Certified Security Administrator R82 – Practice. It has 40 questions and costs $50 USD, booked through Pearson VUE like the real exam.
A practice exam tells you how familiar the question style feels. It does not replace hands-on time on an R82 management server and gateway, which is where administrator-level knowledge is built.
Source: Pearson VUE — Check Point testing. Checked 14 October 2026.
CCSA practice questions
Certsqill CCSA practice questions are expert-developed for the Check Point Certified Security Administrator exam. Every question comes with an explanation for every answer option, so you learn why the right answer is right and why each distractor is wrong.
A readiness score per domain shows which areas are ready and which still need work before you book 156-215.82. Access comes with a 7-day money-back guarantee.
CCSA questions people ask
What is the current CCSA exam?
156-215.82, Check Point Certified Security Administrator R82. Source: Check Point announcement, checked 14 October 2026.
Is the CCSA R81.20 exam still available?
No. Check Point retired 156-215.81.20 on 30 June 2026. Source: Check Point announcement, checked 14 October 2026.
How much does the CCSA exam cost?
The price is not listed on Pearson VUE’s Check Point page; it is shown when you book. The official practice exam costs $50 USD. Checked 14 October 2026.
How many questions are on the CCSA R82 exam?
The official pages checked do not state it; Check Point publishes exam details in its CCSA Exam Prep Guide. Checked 14 October 2026.
Can I take the CCSA exam online?
Pearson VUE’s Check Point page offers test center booking and OnVUE online testing. Checked 14 October 2026.
How long is the Check Point CCSA valid?
Two years (24 months) from the exam date, with no extensions. Source: Pearson VUE Check Point page, checked 14 October 2026.
How do I renew the CCSA?
Pass the exam again within six months of the expiration date. Source: Pearson VUE Check Point page, checked 14 October 2026.
How soon can I retake the CCSA exam?
After 24 hours; after the second attempt, 30 days before each further attempt. Source: Pearson VUE, checked 14 October 2026.
Do I need the CCSA for the CCSE?
Yes. A passed CCSA or CCSE exam (R80 or later) is required for the CCSE. Source: Pearson VUE Check Point page, checked 14 October 2026.



