Linux Plus certification: XK0-006 exam format, passing score and renewal
The Linux Plus certification, written Linux+, is CompTIA’s Linux administration certification, currently exam XK0-006 (V8), launched on 15 July 2025. CompTIA states a maximum of 90 questions in 90 minutes, a passing score of 720 on a scale of 100–900, and English as the exam language.
- Exam
- CompTIA Linux+ V8, exam series code XK0-006CompTIA Linux+ page, checked 8 October 2026
- Launched
- 15 July 2025 — retirement usually three years after launch (estimated 2028)CompTIA Linux+ page, checked 8 October 2026
- Questions
- Maximum of 90, multiple-choice and performance-basedCompTIA Linux+ page, checked 8 October 2026
- Duration
- 90 minutesCompTIA Linux+ page, checked 8 October 2026
- Passing score
- 720 on a scale of 100–900CompTIA Linux+ page, checked 8 October 2026
- Recommended experience
- 12 months hands-on with Linux servers; A+, Network+ or Server+ or comparable knowledge — recommended, not requiredCompTIA Linux+ page, checked 8 October 2026
- Delivery and language
- Pearson VUE test center or online through OnVUE · EnglishCompTIA Linux+ and “Schedule exam” pages, checked 8 October 2026
- Valid for
- 3 years — renew with 50 CEUs or another listed activityCompTIA renewal and CEU pages, checked 8 October 2026
- Exam voucher price
- Not stated on CompTIA’s certification pageVouchers are sold in the CompTIA store, which could not be checked; CompTIA Linux+ page, checked 8 October 2026
Know if you're ready for CompTIA Linux+ — before you book.
Certsqill measures your CompTIA Linux+ readiness across every official exam domain — one 0–100 score from coverage, accuracy and consistency that tells you whether to book, keep studying, or sit.
Why people switch to Certsqill
Everything you need to walk in ready
Know where you stand, understand every mistake, and study in your language — one payment, no subscription.
Your CompTIA Linux+ Readiness Score, not a guess
One number from three signals — coverage, accuracy, and consistency — tells you whether to book the exam or keep studying.
Understand every CompTIA Linux+ mistake
When you miss a question, it explains why — using your own answer history to catch the patterns you keep repeating. Included, no subscription.
Explanations in your language, questions stay exam-accurate
Get every explanation in your language while the questions stay in exam-accurate English. Technical terms stay in English — the way the exam writes them.
Everything you need to pass
Why you can trust these CompTIA Linux+ questions
What is the Linux Plus certification?
CompTIA Linux+ — Linux Plus when spoken — is CompTIA’s certification for Linux system administration. CompTIA describes it as validating the ability to manage, secure, automate and troubleshoot Linux systems in cloud and hybrid environments, and names roles such as Linux systems administrator, systems engineer and network engineer.
It is a single exam, currently XK0-006 (exam version V8), launched on 15 July 2025. CompTIA states that the exam is ISO accredited by the ANSI National Accreditation Board.
In CompTIA’s path Linux+ sits after the core certifications: CompTIA recommends A+, Network+ or Server+, or comparable knowledge, before you take it.
CompTIA states that an exam version usually retires three years after launch and estimates 2028 for XK0-006. If you plan to sit the exam late in that window, check the Linux+ page for a successor version before you buy material.
Source: CompTIA — Linux+ certification. Checked 8 October 2026.
How much does the Linux Plus certification cost?
CompTIA does not print a voucher price on the Linux+ certification page; it links to “Buy Now” options in its store, which could not be checked for this page. No figure is given here for that reason — the binding price is shown at checkout in your own currency.
What the page does show is the shape of the offer: an exam voucher on its own, or bundles with CertMaster training products — a Practice and Exam bundle, a Learn and Exam bundle and a Complete bundle — each sold “with Retake”, meaning the voucher includes Retake Assurance.
Holding the certification also has a recurring cost: CompTIA requires CE fees for renewal, unless you renew through one of the exempt routes, such as earning a higher-level CompTIA certification.
Source: CompTIA — Linux+ certification. Checked 8 October 2026.
What is the Linux+ exam format?
XK0-006 has a maximum of 90 questions and a time limit of 90 minutes. The questions are a mix of multiple choice and performance-based items. Performance-based questions ask you to do something rather than pick something — on a Linux exam that means working through tasks, not only recognising the right command in a list.
If all 90 questions appear, that is one minute per question on average — worth knowing before exam day, so that a single long task does not decide your pacing.
You can take the exam at a Pearson VUE test center or online through OnVUE; CompTIA states that the scheduling steps are the same for both. The Linux+ page lists English as the exam language.
Source: CompTIA — Linux+ certification. Checked 8 October 2026.
Linux+ passing score
CompTIA publishes it: 720 on a scale of 100–900. It is a scaled score, so it does not convert to a fixed share of correct answers, and CompTIA publishes no such conversion.
For preparation, treat a practice percentage as a signal rather than a forecast. The more useful number is the weighting of each domain below — no domain is smaller than 17 per cent, so there is no area you can safely skip.
Source: CompTIA — Linux+ certification. Checked 8 October 2026.
What is on the Linux+ exam?
CompTIA publishes five domains for XK0-006. System Management and Troubleshooting together make up 45 per cent of the exam, so day-to-day administration and fault-finding carry almost half of the weight; security and automation together account for 35 per cent.
The weightings, as CompTIA states them:
- System Management — 23%
- Troubleshooting — 22%
- Services and User Management — 20%
- Security — 18%
- Automation, Orchestration, and Scripting — 17%
Source: CompTIA — Linux+ certification. Checked 8 October 2026.
Linux+ prerequisites
There is no required prerequisite. CompTIA recommends 12 months of hands-on experience with Linux servers and states that CompTIA A+, Network+ or Server+, or comparable knowledge, is recommended — a recommendation, not a booking condition.
The recommendation is a fair description of the starting point the exam assumes: you should already be comfortable on a server command line, because the domains are about administering, securing and automating systems, not about learning what Linux is.
Source: CompTIA — Linux+ certification. Checked 8 October 2026.
How long is Linux+ valid?
CompTIA states that a certification expires three years from the date you earn it and must be renewed before that date. For Linux+, the continuing education programme requires 50 CEUs over the three-year cycle.
Alternatively you can renew with a single activity — CertMaster CE, a higher-level CompTIA certification, a qualifying non-CompTIA IT certification, or passing the latest release of the Linux+ exam — or with a combination of activities such as training, industry work and published content.
Source: CompTIA — How to renew your certification. Checked 8 October 2026.
Linux+ study materials and training
CompTIA’s own preparation products for Linux+ are CertMaster Perform, CertMaster Learn, CertMaster Practice and CertMaster Labs, also sold in bundles with an exam voucher and Retake Assurance.
Whichever material you use, check that it is written for XK0-006 and its five domains, since material written for an earlier exam version follows an older objective list.
Source: CompTIA — Linux+ certification. Checked 8 October 2026.
Linux+ vs LPIC-1
Both certify Linux administration skills, but they are built differently. Linux+ is one CompTIA exam, XK0-006, with a maximum of 90 questions in 90 minutes, including performance-based items, and it is valid for three years.
LPIC-1 from the Linux Professional Institute requires two exams, 101-500 and 102-500 (version 5.0). LPI states that each is a 90-minute exam of 60 multiple-choice and fill-in-the-blank questions, that there are no prerequisites, and that the certification is valid for five years.
The practical differences, then: one exam against two, a three-year renewal cycle against a five-year validity, and performance-based items on the CompTIA side. Neither issuer sets the other as a prerequisite, so the choice mostly follows which name your employer or the job ads in your market ask for.
Source: LPI — LPIC-1 overview. Checked 8 October 2026.
Linux+ practice questions
Certsqill’s Linux+ practice questions for XK0-006 are expert-developed, with an explanation for every option, and weighted the way CompTIA weights the five domains.
Linux+ questions people ask
What is the current Linux+ exam?
XK0-006, exam version V8, launched 15 July 2025. Source: CompTIA, checked 8 October 2026.
How many questions are on the Linux+ exam?
A maximum of 90, multiple-choice and performance-based. Source: CompTIA, checked 8 October 2026.
How long is the Linux+ exam?
90 minutes. Source: CompTIA, checked 8 October 2026.
What is the Linux+ passing score?
720 on a scale of 100–900. It is a scaled score, not a percentage. Source: CompTIA, checked 8 October 2026.
How much does the Linux Plus certification cost?
CompTIA does not state a voucher price on its Linux+ certification page; vouchers and bundles are sold through its store, checked 8 October 2026.
Do I need A+ or Network+ before Linux+?
No. CompTIA recommends A+, Network+ or Server+, or comparable knowledge, plus 12 months with Linux servers, but does not require them. Source: CompTIA, checked 8 October 2026.
Does Linux+ expire?
Yes — three years after you earn it. Renewal takes 50 CEUs or another qualifying activity. Source: CompTIA, checked 8 October 2026.
Is Linux+ accredited?
Yes. CompTIA states that the Linux+ exam is ISO accredited by the ANSI National Accreditation Board. Source: CompTIA, checked 8 October 2026.
Can I take Linux+ online?
Yes — online through OnVUE, or at a Pearson VUE test center. Source: CompTIA, checked 8 October 2026.
The CompTIA Linux certification in CompTIA’s lineup
Linux+ is the CompTIA Linux certification — CompTIA has one Linux credential, not several. If you are comparing CompTIA Linux certifications, the real comparison is between versions: the current exam is XK0-006 (V8), launched on 15 July 2025, and material written for the previous XK0-005 exam follows an older set of objectives.
A CompTIA Linux cert targets working administrators: CompTIA recommends 12 months of hands-on experience with Linux servers and lists roles such as Linux systems administrator, systems engineer and network engineer. CompTIA A+, Network+ or Server+, or comparable knowledge, is recommended beforehand but not required.
Source: CompTIA — Linux+ certification. Checked 8 October 2026.
Linux Plus practice exam and practice test options
A Linux Plus practice exam is most useful when it reflects both halves of XK0-006: multiple-choice questions and performance-based questions, where you carry out a task rather than pick an answer. CompTIA’s own practice product is CertMaster Practice, alongside CertMaster Labs for hands-on work.
Use a Linux Plus practice test to find weak domains, not to memorise answers. The five domains are close in weight — System Management at 23% down to Automation, Orchestration and Scripting at 17% — so a gap in any of them costs real points. For performance-based items, nothing replaces time on an actual Linux system: managing services, users, permissions and scripts from the command line.
Source: CompTIA — Linux+ certification. Checked 8 October 2026.
Linux Plus practice questions on Certsqill
On this site, every Linux Plus practice question explains each answer option and your readiness is shown per domain, weighted the way CompTIA weights XK0-006.
Is Linux+ worth it?
Linux+ is worth it if you administer Linux systems or want to move into that work: the domains — system management, troubleshooting, services and users, security, and automation — match day-to-day administration closely, and the certification is ISO-accredited by the ANSI National Accreditation Board.
Consider the running cost: like other CompTIA certifications, Linux+ expires after three years unless renewed with 50 CEUs or another qualifying activity. CompTIA publishes no salary or pass-rate data for Linux+, and we do not quote unofficial figures.
Source: CompTIA — Linux+ certification. Checked 8 October 2026.
More Linux+ questions
Is there more than one CompTIA Linux certification?
No. Linux+ is CompTIA’s Linux certification. The current exam is XK0-006 (V8). Source: CompTIA, checked 8 October 2026.
Does CompTIA offer an official Linux+ practice test?
CompTIA’s practice product is CertMaster Practice; CertMaster Labs adds hands-on exercises. Source: CompTIA, checked 8 October 2026.



