GitHub Foundations certification: scope, exam and what GitHub does not publish
GitHub Foundations is the entry-level certification in GitHub’s five-exam track. GitHub states the scope — Git basics, repositories, collaboration and GitHub products — and that the exam runs through Pearson VUE. It does not publish the question count, the duration, the passing score or a list price.
- Level
- Entry level — the foundation exam of GitHub’s trackGitHub Education, checked 26 September 2026
- Scope
- Collaboration, GitHub products, Git basics, working within GitHub repositoriesGitHub Docs, “About GitHub Certifications”, checked 26 September 2026
- Other GitHub certifications
- Actions, Advanced Security, Administration, CopilotGitHub Docs, checked 26 September 2026
- Delivery
- Pearson VUE — online or at a test centreGitHub Docs, “Registering for a GitHub Certifications exam”, checked 26 September 2026
- Booking window
- No more than 90 days in advanceGitHub Docs, checked 26 September 2026
- ID required
- Valid, unexpired government-issued ID with name, photo and signatureGitHub Docs, checked 26 September 2026
- Students
- Free for verified studentsGitHub Education, checked 26 September 2026
- Exam code
- GH-900 is widely used, but is not stated on GitHub’s own pages we checkedChecked on GitHub Docs and GitHub Education, 26 September 2026
- GitHub Foundations certification cost
- No list price published by GitHub; free for verified studentsGitHub Education, checked 26 September 2026
- Questions, duration, passing score, exam price, validity
- None of these are published by GitHubChecked on three GitHub pages, 26 September 2026
Get notified when the GitHub Foundations question bank launches →
Know if you're ready for GitHub Foundations GH-900 — before you book.
Certsqill measures your GH-900 readiness across every official exam domain — one 0–100 score from coverage, accuracy and consistency that tells you whether to book, keep studying, or sit.
Why people switch to Certsqill
Everything you need to walk in ready
Know where you stand, understand every mistake, and study in your language — one payment, no subscription.
Your GitHub Foundations GH-900 Readiness Score, not a guess
One number from three signals — coverage, accuracy, and consistency — tells you whether to book the exam or keep studying.
Understand every GitHub Foundations GH-900 mistake
When you miss a question, it explains why — using your own answer history to catch the patterns you keep repeating. Included, no subscription.
Explanations in your language, questions stay exam-accurate
Get every explanation in your language while the questions stay in exam-accurate English. Technical terms stay in English — the way the exam writes them.
Everything you need to pass
Why you can trust these GH-900 questions
What is the GitHub Foundations certification?
GitHub Foundations is the entry point of GitHub’s certification track. GitHub lists five certifications in total — Foundations, Actions, Advanced Security, Administration and Copilot — and Foundations is the one that assumes no prior credential.
GitHub describes the scope in two places consistently: collaboration, GitHub products, Git basics, and working within GitHub repositories, measured as "entry level skills with GitHub basics like repositories, commits, branching, markdowns, and project management".
That is a certification about using GitHub as a platform, not about writing code. If you already work in repositories daily, most of it will be familiar; the part people underestimate is the product side — knowing which GitHub plan or feature does what.
Source: GitHub Docs — About GitHub Certifications. Checked 26 September 2026.
What GitHub does not publish
This is worth saying plainly, because most pages about this exam state numbers as if GitHub had. On the three GitHub pages we checked, GitHub publishes no question count, no time limit, no passing score, no exam price and no validity period. It does not even print the exam code GH-900 that the exam is commonly called.
What GitHub does publish is the process: the exam is delivered through Pearson VUE, online or at a test centre. You register through the same booking flow, can book no more than 90 days ahead, and you need a valid government-issued ID with your name, photo and signature.
So treat any specific "45 questions in 120 minutes, pass at 70 per cent" claim you meet elsewhere as unsourced until GitHub says so. If GitHub publishes those figures later, this page will carry them with a date.
Source: GitHub Docs — Registering for a GitHub Certifications exam. Checked 26 September 2026.
What does the GitHub Foundations certification cost?
GitHub does not state a list price on the pages we checked, so we cannot quote one from GitHub. The one price statement we could source is for students: the certification is free of charge for verified students, through GitHub Education.
If you are not a student, the fee appears at registration through Pearson VUE rather than on GitHub’s own pages.
Source: GitHub Education — GitHub Foundations Certification. Checked 26 September 2026.
GitHub Foundations practice questions, courses and study guides
Certsqill’s GitHub Foundations practice questions come with an explanation for every option, built against the four areas GitHub names rather than against a weighting nobody has published.
For preparation alongside them, GitHub points to its own learning paths; a third-party course or study guide can help, but check it against the four areas GitHub names, because nobody outside GitHub knows the weighting.
GitHub Foundations questions people ask
What does the GitHub Foundations exam cover?
Collaboration, GitHub products, Git basics, and working within GitHub repositories. Source: GitHub Docs, checked 26 September 2026.
Where can I find GitHub Foundations exam questions?
GitHub publishes no sample set. Any exam questions you find elsewhere are third-party material, not GitHub’s.
Is the exam code GH-900?
That code is widely used, but it does not appear on GitHub’s own certification pages we checked on 26 September 2026, so we do not present it as a GitHub statement.
How many questions are on the exam?
GitHub does not publish a question count, checked 26 September 2026.
What is the passing score?
GitHub does not publish one, checked 26 September 2026.
How much does it cost?
GitHub publishes no list price; verified students can take it for free through GitHub Education. The fee otherwise appears at registration with Pearson VUE, checked 26 September 2026.
How do I book the exam?
Through Pearson VUE, online or at a test centre, no more than 90 days in advance, with a government-issued photo ID. Source: GitHub Docs, checked 26 September 2026.
Is the GitHub Foundations certification free?
For verified students, yes. GitHub Education states that verified students can take the GitHub Foundations certification free: you request a voucher through the offer tile in the GitHub Student Developer Pack, while supplies last, and use the voucher code when you register for the exam.
If you are not a verified student, the free voucher does not apply. GitHub does not print a list price on the pages we checked, so the amount you pay is the one shown when you register.
Source: GitHub Education — GitHub Foundations Certification. Checked 9 October 2026.
GitHub Foundations certification study guide and course options
GitHub Education points to the GitHub Foundations learning path on Microsoft Learn — a concise, beginner-friendly path through the exam topics. It is the closest thing to an official GitHub Foundations certification study guide, and it is free.
GitHub’s own documentation adds a “Preparing for the certification” section that links to further courses and learning paths on GitHub’s learning site. Any GitHub Foundations course you choose should cover the four areas GitHub names for the exam: collaboration, GitHub products, Git basics, and working within GitHub repositories.
Source: Microsoft Learn — GitHub Foundations learning path. Checked 9 October 2026.
Preparing for the GitHub Foundations certification exam
The GitHub Foundations certification exam measures entry-level skills: repositories, commits, branching, Markdown and project management on GitHub. Training is most effective when it is hands-on: create a repository, open and review a pull request, resolve a merge conflict, write an issue template, set up a project board. If you have done each of those at least once, the exam questions describe situations you recognise.
Then use practice questions to check the areas you have not touched in daily work, such as GitHub product features you do not use yourself.
Source: GitHub Education — GitHub Foundations Certification. Checked 9 October 2026.
Why dumps are a poor way to prepare
Dumps that claim to contain real GitHub Foundations questions are unreliable: you cannot check whether the answers are correct or current, and GitHub’s products change often. For an entry-level exam, the skills themselves are quick to learn properly — and they are what employers actually want to see.
More GitHub Foundations questions
How do students get a free GitHub Foundations voucher?
Verified students request a voucher through the offer tile in the GitHub Student Developer Pack, while supplies last, and enter the code at registration. Source: GitHub Education, checked 9 October 2026.
Is there an official GitHub Foundations course?
GitHub Education points to the free GitHub Foundations learning path on Microsoft Learn, and GitHub Docs links to further courses on GitHub’s learning site.
Which certifications does GitHub offer?
Five: GitHub Foundations, GitHub Actions, GitHub Advanced Security, GitHub Administration and GitHub Copilot. Source: GitHub Docs, checked 9 October 2026.



