Phlebotomy Certification Cost: Exam Fees and Courses
7-day money-back guarantee — full refund within 7 days of purchase if you've completed under 20% of the questions. See pricing →
Certifications Tools Flashcards Career Paths Exam Guides Blog Pricing For Teams About

Phlebotomy certification cost: exam fees, courses and renewal

The phlebotomy certification cost for the exam itself is $119 at NCCT, $125 at AMT (including the first annual fee) and $155 at ASCP; NHA shows its CPT fee when you schedule. Course tuition is set by each school, and none of the certifying bodies publishes a typical price, so get a written quote that says what is included.

Get notified when the Phlebotomy question bank launches →

Phlebotomy certification cost: exam fees by certifying body

These are the published fees for the national phlebotomy exams. ASCP and AMT state that their fees are non-refundable, so confirm your eligibility before you pay.

  • NCCT National Certified Phlebotomy Technician (NCPT): $119 exam fee.
  • AMT Registered Phlebotomy Technician (RPT): $125, covering the application, the exam and the first annual fee; $155 for the international version. Non-refundable.
  • ASCP Phlebotomy Technician, PBT(ASCP): $155 application fee, non-refundable.
  • NHA Certified Phlebotomy Technician (CPT): fee shown on the NHA website when you set your exam date; NHA does not state the amount on its CPT page or in its handbook, and its store could not be read when we checked.

Source: AMT — Phlebotomy Technician (RPT). Checked 18 October 2026.

How much does a phlebotomy course cost?

The phlebotomy course cost is set by the school, community college or employer that runs it. NHA, ASCP, AMT, NCCT and the California Department of Public Health set training standards, such as hours and the number of supervised draws, but none of them publishes what classes should cost.

So when you ask how much are phlebotomy classes, compare quotes on the same basis. Ask whether the price includes the clinical hours and supervised draws, textbooks and supplies, a background check or immunizations if the clinical site requires them, and the national exam fee. A cheaper program that leaves out the clinical part can end up costing more if you have to buy it separately.

Official study material and what it costs

Certifying bodies sell their own preparation material. ASCP lists a bundle of its BOC Phlebotomy Study Guide (4th edition) and interactive practice exam at $109, or $89 for members, with one year of access; the store page says the bundle is for current ASCP members. AMT sells an RPT practice exam for $30 with two attempts of 200 questions each.

AMT also offers a review course for $150 with six content modules and two practice exam attempts, to be finished within 180 days. NHA offers a CPT online study guide, practice tests and a preparation package; its prices were not readable on the pages we checked, but its CPT test plan is free.

Source: ASCP Store — BOC Phlebotomy Study Guide 4th Ed and Interactive Practice Exam Bundle. Checked 19 October 2026.

What a retake costs

A failed attempt is the most avoidable extra cost. NHA requires you to register again and pay the full exam price for each retake. ASCP charges an application fee for each application submission. AMT requires a retesting fee, but does not state the amount on its testing FAQ.

Source: NHA — Candidate Handbook (updated 10/05/2026). Checked 18 October 2026.

Renewal costs after you pass

Certification is not a one-time payment. ASCP charges a $110 application fee for its credential maintenance program, on a three-year cycle. AMT has an annual renewal fee and says there are no extra fees for continuation compliance beyond it. NCCT recertifies every year, with a fee that varies by credential. Continuing education hours may carry their own costs.

If you work in a state that issues its own phlebotomy certificate, budget for that too: California charges an application fee and a renewal fee, though the amounts are not listed on the certificate pages we checked.

Source: ASCP BOC — PBT credential maintenance. Checked 19 October 2026.

Cheapest way to protect the exam fee

The exam fee is lost if you fail, so the best-value spend is on finding your weak areas before test day. Certsqill’s phlebotomy practice questions are expert-developed, explain every answer option and give you a readiness score per exam area.

Phlebotomy cost: questions people ask

How much is a phlebotomy course?

It depends on the school. Certifying bodies set training standards but publish no tuition figures, so compare written quotes that include clinical hours and the exam fee.

How much does phlebotomy course cost compared with the exam?

Course prices are set by schools and not published by certifying bodies. The exam fees are published: NCCT $119, AMT $125, ASCP $155. Checked 18 and 19 October 2026.

How much is the NHA phlebotomy exam?

NHA shows the fee when you schedule; its CPT page and candidate handbook do not state an amount. Source: NHA, checked 18 October 2026.

Is the AMT RPT fee all-inclusive?

The $125 covers the application, the exam and the first annual fee, and is non-refundable. Source: AMT, checked 18 October 2026.

Do I pay again if I fail the phlebotomy exam?

Yes. NHA requires the full exam price for each retake, ASCP charges a new application fee, and AMT charges a retesting fee. Checked 18 and 19 October 2026.

What does the AMT phlebotomy review course cost?

$150 for six content modules and two RPT practice exam attempts, with 180 days to finish. Source: AMT Learning, checked 19 October 2026.

Phlebotomy questions are coming soon Leave your email and we'll tell you the moment the question bank goes live. Get notified →