SAS Certified Data Scientist certification: path, exams and cost
The SAS Certified Data Scientist is earned by combining two SAS professional credentials: Advanced Programming Professional (one exam, A00-232, which needs a SAS Base Programming credential first) and AI & Machine Learning Professional (three specialist exams). Each exam costs US$180. SAS changed the path on 30 June 2025 and retired three exams, so older guides may describe a route that no longer exists.
- Certification
- SAS Certified Data Scientist, issued by SASSAS Data Scientist page, checked 10 October 2026
- Status
- Active; path changed on 30 June 2025, exams A00-225, A00-226 and A00-223 retiredSAS Data Scientist page and retirement notice, checked 10 October 2026
- Required credentials
- Advanced Programming Professional + AI & Machine Learning ProfessionalSAS Data Scientist page, checked 10 October 2026
- Exams
- A00-232 (Advanced Programming); A00-406, A00-407, A00-408 (AI & ML specialists)SAS credential pages, checked 10 October 2026
- Exam fee
- US$180 per examSAS credential pages, checked 10 October 2026
- Passing scores
- A00-232: 725 of 1,000; A00-406: 62%; A00-407: 68%; A00-408: 70%SAS credential pages, checked 10 October 2026
- Delivery
- Administered by SAS and Pearson VUESAS credential pages, checked 10 October 2026
- Prerequisite
- A current SAS Base Programming credential before A00-232SAS Advanced Programming Professional page, checked 10 October 2026
- Validity
- AI & ML specialist credentials expire after 5 years; Data Scientist validity not published by SASSAS credential pages, checked 10 October 2026
Get notified when the SAS Certified Data Scientist question bank launches →
Know if you're ready for SAS Certified Data Scientist — before you book.
Certsqill measures your SAS Certified Data Scientist readiness across every official exam domain — one 0–100 score from coverage, accuracy and consistency that tells you whether to book, keep studying, or sit.
Why people switch to Certsqill
Everything you need to walk in ready
Know where you stand, understand every mistake, and study in your language — one payment, no subscription.
Your SAS Certified Data Scientist Readiness Score, not a guess
One number from three signals — coverage, accuracy, and consistency — tells you whether to book the exam or keep studying.
Understand every SAS Certified Data Scientist mistake
When you miss a question, it explains why — using your own answer history to catch the patterns you keep repeating. Included, no subscription.
Explanations in your language, questions stay exam-accurate
Get every explanation in your language while the questions stay in exam-accurate English. Technical terms stay in English — the way the exam writes them.
Everything you need to pass
Why you can trust these SAS Certified Data Scientist questions
What is the SAS Certified Data Scientist?
SAS Certified Data Scientist is a SAS certification that you do not sit as a single exam. You earn it by holding two professional-level SAS credentials, which SAS describes as the two professional-level credentials it offers for data scientists: one on advanced programming and one on AI and machine learning.
SAS says the combined certification shows you can manipulate and gain insights from big data with a variety of SAS and open source tools, make business recommendations with complex machine learning models, and deploy models at scale in the SAS environment. Each of the two credentials is also valuable on its own; the data scientist title is what you get for completing both.
Source: SAS — SAS Certified Data Scientist. Checked 10 October 2026.
What changed in the SAS data scientist certification path in 2025?
SAS states that changes were made to the SAS Certified Data Scientist certification path on 30 June 2025. On that date SAS retired three exams: SAS Advanced Predictive Modeling (A00-225) and SAS Text Analytics, Time Series, Experimentation and Optimization (A00-226) from the former Advanced Analytics Professional pathway, and Data Curation for SAS Data Scientists (A00-223).
Certifications earned before the retirement date do not expire, according to SAS. If you started on the old path and stopped partway, log in to SAS Certification Manager and check My Certifications > Status to see which requirements remain. One sentence on the current SAS page still mentions Data Curation as a combination option; because its exam has been retired, the route described below is the one you can actually complete today.
Source: SAS — Data Scientist pathway exam retirement. Checked 10 October 2026.
Which exams do you need for the SAS certified data scientist certification?
The current route has two parts. The Advanced Programming Professional credential requires one exam, SAS Certified Professional: Advanced Programming Using SAS 9.4 (A00-232). The AI & Machine Learning Professional credential is awarded once you hold three specialist credentials, each with its own exam.
In total that is four exams, plus the SAS Base Programming credential you must already hold before A00-232. SAS also notes one exemption: holders of the SAS Certified Predictive Modeler Using SAS Enterprise Miner (version 7 or higher) credential do not need to take the Machine Learning exam.
- A00-232 — Advanced Programming Using SAS 9.4: 10–15 programming projects and 10–15 standard questions, 2 hours 5 minutes, pass mark 725 on a 200–1,000 scale
- A00-406 — Machine Learning Using SAS Viya: 50–55 multiple choice and short-answer questions, 90 minutes, pass mark 62%
- A00-407 — Forecasting and Optimization Using SAS Viya: 50 questions, 90 minutes, pass mark 68%
- A00-408 — Natural Language Processing and Computer Vision: 60 questions, 110 minutes, pass mark 70%
Source: SAS — AI and Machine Learning Professional. Checked 10 October 2026.
How much does the SAS data scientist certification cost?
Each of the four exams on the current path is listed at US$180. SAS states the fee is charged in US dollars for all countries worldwide on the specialist pages, and as the fee in the U.S. and most other countries on the Machine Learning page.
SAS does not publish a single price for the whole certification, and the Base Programming credential required before A00-232 is a separate step if you do not already hold it. Retakes are charged again at the exam price, so the total depends on how many attempts you need.
Source: SAS — Advanced Programming Professional. Checked 10 October 2026.
Advanced Programming Professional: exam format and prerequisites
The A00-232 exam is a performance-based exam: 10–15 programming projects scored by a SAS scoring macro plus 10–15 standard exam questions. You have 2 hours and 5 minutes to complete it, within a Pearson appointment of 2 hours and 30 minutes, and the passing score is 725 on a scale from 200 to 1,000.
To sit it you must hold a current SAS Base Programmer for SAS 9 or SAS Certified Specialist: Base Programming Using SAS 9.4 credential. The skills tested are the ones SAS lists for the credential: advanced programming techniques, processing data with SQL and using the SAS macro facility.
Source: SAS — Advanced Programming Professional. Checked 10 October 2026.
AI and Machine Learning Professional: the three specialist exams
The AI & Machine Learning Professional credential is awarded after you earn three SAS Certified Specialist credentials: Machine Learning, Forecasting and Optimization, and Natural Language Processing and Computer Vision. SAS describes the credential as validating AI and analytics talent using open source and SAS tools.
All three exams use multiple choice and short-answer questions and are administered by SAS and Pearson VUE. They differ in length and pass mark: 62% for Machine Learning, 68% for Forecasting and Optimization and 70% for Natural Language Processing and Computer Vision, so the last exam is both the longest and the strictest.
Source: SAS — AI and Machine Learning Professional. Checked 10 October 2026.
SAS data scientist training and exam preparation
SAS offers training courses, prep guides, practice exams and books for its certifications, and links a dedicated course for the Advanced Programming Professional and a learning program for the AI & Machine Learning Professional on its own learning platform. SAS also runs certification webinars and offers a free SAS Viya trial for hands-on practice.
The most direct preparation is SAS’s free practice exams. Each comes with 180 days of access and can be re-attempted as often as you like, and SAS lists practice exams for the Advanced Programming performance-based exam and for all three AI & ML specialist exams.
Source: SAS — Free certification practice exams. Checked 10 October 2026.
SAS exam retake policy and credential expiry
SAS allows up to five attempts at each certification exam in a 12-month period, at least 14 days apart, and each attempt is charged. Once you pass an exam, you cannot take it again.
Some SAS credentials expire. Each of the three AI & ML specialist credentials expires after five years, and SAS states that the AI & Machine Learning Professional credential expires five years from the date it is earned. SAS does not state a separate validity period for the SAS Certified Data Scientist title itself. If a credential lapses, SAS requires you to retake the associated exams to earn it again.
Source: SAS — Certification FAQ. Checked 10 October 2026.
SAS certified data scientist salary
SAS does not publish salary figures for the SAS Certified Data Scientist credential, and we do not quote numbers from elsewhere. What the certification shows an employer is concrete: advanced SAS programming including SQL and macros, plus machine learning, forecasting and optimization, and natural language processing and computer vision with SAS tools.
Pay for data scientist roles depends on the job, the country and your experience far more than on any single credential. Use the certification as evidence of specific, testable skills rather than as a salary lever.
SAS Certified Data Scientist practice questions
Certsqill’s SAS Certified Data Scientist practice questions come with an explanation for every answer option, and readiness is scored per domain, so you can see which of the four exams on the path you are ready for.
SAS Certified Data Scientist questions people ask
What is the SAS Certified Data Scientist certification?
A SAS certification earned by combining the Advanced Programming Professional and AI & Machine Learning Professional credentials. Source: SAS, checked 10 October 2026.
How many exams are needed?
Four on the current path: A00-232, plus A00-406, A00-407 and A00-408 for the AI & ML Professional, after a SAS Base Programming credential. Source: SAS credential pages, checked 10 October 2026.
How much does each SAS exam cost?
US$180 per exam. Source: SAS credential pages, checked 10 October 2026.
What changed on 30 June 2025?
SAS retired A00-225, A00-226 and A00-223 and changed the data scientist path; certifications earned earlier do not expire. Source: SAS retirement notice, checked 10 October 2026.
What are the passing scores?
A00-232: 725 on a 200–1,000 scale; A00-406: 62%; A00-407: 68%; A00-408: 70%. Source: SAS credential pages, checked 10 October 2026.
Where are SAS exams taken?
SAS states its exams are administered by SAS and Pearson VUE. Source: SAS credential pages and FAQ, checked 10 October 2026.
Does the SAS data scientist certification expire?
The AI & ML specialist and professional credentials expire after five years; SAS does not state a validity period for the data scientist title itself. Checked 10 October 2026.
Is there free SAS training or practice?
SAS offers free practice exams with 180 days of access for all four exams on the path, plus a free SAS Viya trial. Source: SAS, checked 10 October 2026.
What salary does a SAS certified data scientist earn?
SAS does not publish salary figures for this certification, so we do not quote one.



