Model Context Protocol certification (MCPA): exam, cost and domains
The MCPA — Model Context Protocol Associate — is the official model context protocol certification from the Agentic AI Foundation, delivered by Linux Foundation Education. It is a beginner-level, online, proctored, multiple-choice exam costing US$250 with one retake, valid for two years, with no prerequisites. Officially published exam lengths differ: the certification page says 90 minutes, the launch press release and the AAIF blog say 120 minutes.
- Certification
- Model Context Protocol Associate (MCPA), from the Agentic AI Foundation via Linux Foundation EducationLinux Foundation press release and MCPA page, checked 10 October 2026
- Status
- Live and open for enrollment since September 2026Linux Foundation press release, 14 September 2026, checked 10 October 2026
- Cost
- US$250 exam only; US$495 with a THRIVE-ONE full access subscriptionLinux Foundation MCPA page, checked 10 October 2026
- Format
- Online, proctored, multiple choiceLinux Foundation MCPA page, checked 10 October 2026
- Duration
- 90 minutes on the certification page; 120 minutes in the press release and AAIF blogLinux Foundation and AAIF, checked 10 October 2026
- Questions
- Not publishedLinux Foundation MCPA page, checked 10 October 2026
- Passing score
- 75% for Linux Foundation multiple-choice exams; not stated on the MCPA page itselfLinux Foundation Multiple Choice Exams FAQ, checked 10 October 2026
- Retakes and eligibility
- One retake included; 12 months to take the examLinux Foundation MCPA page, checked 10 October 2026
- Prerequisites and validity
- No prerequisites; valid 2 yearsLinux Foundation MCPA page, checked 10 October 2026
Know if you're ready for MCPA — before you book.
Certsqill measures your MCPA readiness across every official exam domain — one 0–100 score from coverage, accuracy and consistency that tells you whether to book, keep studying, or sit.
Why people switch to Certsqill
Everything you need to walk in ready
Know where you stand, understand every mistake, and study in your language — one payment, no subscription.
Your MCPA Readiness Score, not a guess
One number from three signals — coverage, accuracy, and consistency — tells you whether to book the exam or keep studying.
Understand every MCPA mistake
When you miss a question, it explains why — using your own answer history to catch the patterns you keep repeating. Included, no subscription.
Explanations in your language, questions stay exam-accurate
Get every explanation in your language while the questions stay in exam-accurate English. Technical terms stay in English — the way the exam writes them.
Everything you need to pass
Why you can trust these MCPA questions
What is the MCPA certification?
MCPA stands for Model Context Protocol Associate. The Linux Foundation announced it on 14 September 2026 as a foundational, vendor-neutral certification from the Agentic AI Foundation (AAIF), validating engineering and platform builders’ understanding of MCP. The AAIF calls it the first official certification for the Model Context Protocol.
MCP itself is described on the certification page as an important standard for connecting AI applications to external tools, data sources and services. The MCPA tests whether you understand MCP concepts, use cases and implementation considerations — it is about the protocol, not about any single vendor’s product.
The Linux Foundation labels the experience level as beginner, and the AAIF calls it a beginner-level credential. The launch release aligns it with emerging AI engineering, platform engineering and AI governance roles.
Source: Linux Foundation — Agentic AI Foundation launches MCPA certification (14 September 2026). Checked 10 October 2026.
Is there an official model context protocol certification?
Yes — the MCPA. It comes from the Agentic AI Foundation, and the exam is sold and delivered through Linux Foundation Education. The AAIF states that the exam is built directly on the MCP specification; the certification page links to the specification and names 2026-07-28 as its latest release.
The AAIF first announced the certification on 10 July 2026 as an upcoming credential. By the launch press release on 14 September 2026, the MCPA was live and open for enrollment.
Source: Agentic AI Foundation — Introducing the MCPA (10 July 2026). Checked 10 October 2026.
How much does the MCPA exam cost?
The exam alone costs US$250. A bundle with a THRIVE-ONE full access subscription costs US$495. The certification page also advertises a 20% saving when you buy the MCPA through an AAIF conference registration.
Every purchase includes one retake, and you have 12 months of exam eligibility to sit it.
Source: Linux Foundation Education — Model Context Protocol Associate (MCPA). Checked 10 October 2026.
MCPA exam format and duration
The MCPA is an online, proctored, multiple-choice exam. The Linux Foundation’s FAQ for its multiple-choice exams explains that proctoring runs remotely via streaming audio, video and screen sharing, and that score reports are emailed within 24 hours of finishing.
On duration, the official sources disagree. The certification page lists the exam duration as 90 minutes, and the Linux Foundation’s multiple-choice FAQ gives 90 minutes for its multiple-choice exams generally. The launch press release and the AAIF blog both describe a 120-minute exam. Confirm the length shown when you schedule, and prepare to work at the faster pace.
The number of questions is not published.
Source: Linux Foundation Education — Model Context Protocol Associate (MCPA). Checked 10 October 2026.
MCPA passing score
The MCPA page does not state a passing score. The Linux Foundation’s general FAQ for its multiple-choice exams says a score of 75% or above must be earned to pass. That FAQ does not name the MCPA individually, so treat 75% as the Linux Foundation’s standard for multiple-choice exams and check your candidate materials for confirmation.
Source: Linux Foundation — Multiple Choice Exams FAQ. Checked 10 October 2026.
What is on the MCPA exam? Domains and weights
The Linux Foundation publishes five domains. Interactions and execution (26%) and security and governance (24%) together make up half of the exam, so the MCPA leans towards how MCP behaves at runtime and how it is kept safe, rather than towards definitions.
- MCP Fundamentals — 16% (purpose and scope, core concepts, interoperability and value)
- Architecture & Components — 14% (schemas and structured data; hosts, clients and servers; model interaction flow)
- Interactions & Execution — 26% (interaction patterns and response handling, error handling, tool invocation lifecycle, protocol primitives)
- Security & Governance — 24% (trust boundaries, permissions and consent, risk and safety controls, auditability and observability)
- Use Cases & Ecosystem — 20% (roles and adoption, operational use cases, ecosystem and portability)
Source: Linux Foundation Education — Model Context Protocol Associate (MCPA). Checked 10 October 2026.
MCPA prerequisites and recommended experience
There are no prerequisites. The Linux Foundation does recommend some experience before you sit the exam: foundational knowledge of JSON-RPC or similar message-based protocols, experience interacting with LLM APIs, an understanding of agentic AI concepts such as ReAct patterns, tool use or chain-of-thought, basic security literacy covering API keys, OAuth 2.1 and token handling and authentication headers, and the ability to read and interpret MCP server manifests and capability definitions.
Read that list as a study plan. If JSON-RPC message flow or OAuth token handling is new to you, those are the gaps to close first, because the two heaviest domains build on them.
Source: Linux Foundation Education — Model Context Protocol Associate (MCPA). Checked 10 October 2026.
How long is the MCPA valid?
The certification is valid for two years. The Linux Foundation’s multiple-choice exam FAQ states that candidates can retake and pass the exam to renew their certification.
Because the MCP specification is versioned by release date, check which specification release the exam references when you renew rather than assuming it is unchanged.
Source: Linux Foundation Education — Model Context Protocol Associate (MCPA). Checked 10 October 2026.
MCPA study resources and exam rules
The primary study source is the MCP specification itself, which the AAIF names as the basis of the exam. The AAIF blog mentioned a companion learning path as following the exam release; the certification page itself does not list a course.
Braindump material is explicitly prohibited. The Linux Foundation’s certification agreement bans using recollections of others or materials from previous exams, and allows it to revoke certifications and permanently ban candidates.
Source: Linux Foundation — Global Certification and Confidentiality Agreement. Checked 10 October 2026.
MCPA practice questions
MCPA practice questions on Certsqill come with an explanation for each answer option and a readiness score per domain, weighted like the official MCPA outline.
MCPA questions people ask
Is there a model context protocol certification?
Yes. The Model Context Protocol Associate (MCPA) from the Agentic AI Foundation, delivered by Linux Foundation Education. Checked 10 October 2026.
How much does the MCPA cost?
US$250 for the exam alone, or US$495 with a THRIVE-ONE full access subscription. Source: Linux Foundation, checked 10 October 2026.
How long is the MCPA exam?
Official sources differ: 90 minutes on the certification page, 120 minutes in the press release and AAIF blog. Checked 10 October 2026.
How many questions are on the MCPA exam?
The number is not published. The exam is multiple choice. Checked 10 October 2026.
What is the MCPA passing score?
The MCPA page does not state one; the Linux Foundation’s FAQ for its multiple-choice exams sets 75%. Checked 10 October 2026.
Is the MCPA exam online?
Yes. It is an online, proctored exam. Source: Linux Foundation MCPA page, checked 10 October 2026.
Are there prerequisites for the MCPA?
No. The Linux Foundation recommends experience with JSON-RPC, LLM APIs, agentic AI concepts and basic security. Checked 10 October 2026.
How long is the MCPA valid?
Two years, with one retake included in the purchase. Source: Linux Foundation, checked 10 October 2026.
When did the MCPA launch?
The Linux Foundation announced it as live on 14 September 2026, after an AAIF announcement on 10 July 2026. Checked 10 October 2026.



